Lasswade 10 Race Report 2011

Cambuslang Winner in Lasswade 10

Once again Ferguson Park, Rosewell was the H.Q. for the running of the 2011 Lasswade Athletic Club ten mile road race. The ‘Lasswade 10’ continues to grow in popularity with the leading runners from Cambuslang, Kilbarchan, Edinburgh and Aberdeen and in the case of the third woman (Arlene Bristow) encompassing a special trip from Shetland to compete in this race. With nearly four hundred starters assembling at the west side of the village, starter Kenny Marshall set them in motion at exactly twelve noon and they headed of to Roslin Glen in bright sunshine but with the temperature dropping as the afternoon continued. It was always a close race from the start with Kerry Liam Wilson of Ron Hill Cambuslang only getting the better of 2008 winner Paul Arcari of Kilbarchan in the closing stages. The always reliable Bryan Clark of Corstorphine was involved in a long dual with Barney Phillips of the host club before opening a small gap in the last mile, enough to ensure a clear run for third spot with the Lasswade athlete enjoying a forty second advantage over the fifth placed Craig Mattocks of Hunters Bog Trotters.

In the womens race Megan Wright ( was the winner, for Hunters, from previous winner Sue Ridlay of Edinburgh and the Shetland A.C. competitor Arlene Bristow. Top Lasswade woman was Wilma Kerr and the winning teams were Corstorphine for the men (B.Clark 3 G.Wilkie 6 D.Patton 1 and Hunters Bog Trotters for the women. (M.Wright 1 Kate Jenkins 4 Morag McCracken 7 First Jog Scotland was John Smith (170th.) and the first Midlothian man was Ben Mitchell (Lasswade AC)

Leave a Reply