36th Lasswade OpenCross Country Meeting

Updated results now available via the link at the bottom of the article

Over 300 runners from around the country descended on Gorebridge at the weekend to take part in the 36th annual Lasswade AC Open Cross Country Meeting.  An army of volunteers had arrived early to prepare the course and set up for what turned out to be an excellent days racing.  With little rain the previous week, and a rare appearance by the sun, the course was well set up for runners and spectators alike. 

First up on the day was the girls under 11 race. Taking in one lap of the course, and covering one mile it proved to be the closest race of the day. Over 50 girls lined up on the start line, but the course soon had them well spread. As the finish line came up 4 girls were left fighting it out for the top spot. Chloe Hill of Larkhill Harriers had just enough to take first in a time of 6m 25s. Just a second behind the winner, and seperated by less than a second was the trio of Carys Gibb, Adele Street and Lasswade AC runner Abbie Foster. Not far behind Abbie was fellow Lasswade runner Hannah Harley, finishing in a time of 6m 32s. A good turnout by Lasswade runners also included fine performances from Eloise Scott, Sophie Birse, Sophie Winters, Amy Rutherford and Matilde Buxton. In the team race, based on the top 3 performances of each team, Pitreavie came out just ahead of Lasswade AC, with Moorfoot in 3rd. 

The boys Under 11 race was next up, and had another strong field. First home was Giffnock North runner Craig Shennan, in a time of 6m 00s. Following him home was  Haddington East runner Innes Wright, with Thomas Hilton, of Moorfoot, coming home third. After recent wins in the Midlothian Schools and East District Cross Country events , Lasswade runner, Andrew McWilliam put in another strong performance coming home in 8th spot. Next up for Lasswade was Shane Majekodunmi, with strong runs from Ewan Meldrum, Ben Harley, Rory Stobbie, Jude Anderson and Cian murray in their first outings for the club. The Team prize was taken by Moorfoot runners, followed by Giffnock North and Airdrie Harriers, with Lasswade in 5th. 

The Under 13 girls were next up, with their race covering 2 laps of the track. Katie Johnson, of Edinburgh AC, was givien a stern test by Pitreavie runner Anya Morrison, before finally prevailing to take  a 1 second victory. Third spot went to East Lothian runner Bridget Harley. First home for Lasswade was Olivia Meikle, with Amy Mclaughlin, Skye Foster and Sophie Edwards all coming home in good times behind. Team prize went to Pitreavie again, with Moorfoot and Lawfield and District behind. Another good showing by the Lasswade team saw them finishing 5th overall. 

Harmeny runner took top spot in the Boys Under 13, 2 mile race, finishing in a time of 11m 38s. First Lasswade runner home was Ross Wolfenden in 5th. Good performances from Alec Miller, Alastair Scott and Alasdair Brown put the Lasswade boys into third spot in the team prize, behind Pitreavie and Moorfoot.  

Top three in the Girls Under 15 race were Daisy Cumming of Dunfermline, Aimee Anderson of Airdrie and Corstorphine runner Georgia Ledingham. Abby McGlone was the lone Lasswade runner in the field, finishing strongly in 12th. Team prize went to Corstorphioine, followed by Airdrie and Moorfoot. In the boys Under 15 race, Lasswade runner, Harry Henriksen once again proved far too strong for the rest of the field, romping home almost a minute ahead of the rest in a time of 17m26s. Law & District runner Donald Gilchrist’s second spot helped his team to the team prize for the Under 15 boys. 

Cera Gemmell was dominant throughout in her race, taking top spot in the Under 17 women for Team East Lothian. In the same combined race Lauren Dickson, of Lasswade, took top spot in the Under 20s.. The senior womens race was won by Carnethy athlete Charlotte Morgan, with Lasswade runner Keira Murray running well to come home in second. First veteran runner home was Lisa McDonald, with Sue Ridley winner of the over 45s group. The Lasswade team of Keira Murray, Julia Cunningham and Ellen Kristoffersen took second spot behind Edinburgh AC. 

In the mens Under 17s James Gillon and Lasswade Runner, Magnus Tait, spent much of the race side by side. Gillon proved to be too strong in the final lap though, taking the top spot for Law & District.  Another Lasswade athlete, Euan Hood ran well in third, with team mate Daniel Kelly a few places further back in 6th. The trio of performances by the Lasswade runners was enough to take the team prize.  Moray runner Cameron Main took top spot in the Mens under 20s, followed by Forbes Jackson of Cumbernauld. 

The mens senior race was won by Grant Sheldon of Cambuslang Harriers, followed by Cameron Richardson of Cumbernauld. First Veteren was HBT runner Dave Wright, with Portobello’s Jake Harper first in the over 50s. Senior team prize went to HBT, with the Lasswade team of Jamie Darling, Martin Gore and Andrew McGlone coming second. Peter Ness and David Scott completed a strong turn out from the Lasswade team on the day. 

Full results 2017:

LAC X-Country Results 2017 Final Format (2)

Please note we are still running down a couple of results that may need to be added to the final results. We will get this done ASAP. In the meantime apologies for any omissions, and please get in touch if you are missing a result from the current list.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply